vsftpd delete restriction for one user only.

on October 29 | in LAMP, Linux | by | with No Comments

If you want to disable delete option for specific user, please follow below steps.

1. Add below lines in /etc/vsftpd/vsftpd.conf
user_config_dir=/etc/vsftpd/vsftpd_user_conf
dual_log_enable=YES

2. create directory

#mkdir /etc/vsftpd/vsftpd_user_conf

3. create user test1 and assign password

#useradd test1
#passwd test1

4. define the role for specific user test1 like that, below test1 file should be create under /etc/vsftpd/vsftpd_user_conf/

/etc/vsftpd/vsftpd_user_conf/test1

cmds_denied=DELE

5. After that now restart vsftpd service.

#service vsftpd restart

6. Now you can verify upload/delete option with test1 user and other users, it only work for test1 user because in above steps we created file for test1 user only. Remember we need to assign the same filename like username.

1221 Total Views 2 Views Today
Pin It

related posts

Comments are closed.

« »